Conceptualized in 2013 by CauseBecause, Coffee for Cause has grown from being a half-day conversations event to one that spans weeks, moves places (conference halls, bookshops, schools, institutions, offices, the virtual world), and seeks out participation by people from diverse fields (but with thoughts and experiences relevant to the domain).

Over the past seven editions, Coffee for Cause evolved into a space for eclectic conversations made interesting, insightful and purpose-driven by the individuals who brought to these their years and range of experiences and learnings.

These conversations – and consequently the larger CSR and environmental sustainability domain – had everything to gain from the participation of decision-makers from UN agencies, central and state government officials, leaders from corporate groups and foundations, representatives from non-profits and academic institutions, and social entrepreneurs.

And like any good, solid, meaningful conversation, the ones at Coffee for Cause are memorable too – not the least because they are relatable and relevant (with dollops of humour and friendly banter), unfolding in an environment that is friendly and inspiring. Many of the same people are encouraged to keep participating, so that there is a sense of continuity (and stocktaking).